Mount Marshall – June 21st, 2016

Here is a trail report, written on 6/22/16, for my climb of Mount Marshall (my 33rd High Peak) on the previous day:

1goye5k

Heart Lake in the AM

The fastest approach to Mount Marshall entails a start from Upper Works but I chose a more scenic loop from the Loj. I went out around Heart Lake to Indian Pass then up the abandoned Cold Brook trail to the herd path. Spur of the moment, I chose to return via the Herbert Brook herd path (as opposed to a return on the prickly Cold Brook herd path) and I am really glad I did. The Herbert Brook herd path was quite lovely. I took some pictures of the mossy brook with Skylight and then with Redfield yonder. Anyone choosing to do Marshall must include Herbert Brook in some capacity. I missed out on seeing plane wreckage off of Cold Brook but I am apathetic to it. Had there been skeletal remains left in the cockpit … then maybe.

ac9pqcz

Iroquois and the Shepard’s Tooth. 

cbh9y8x

View to the south from Mount Marshall

bzs37k2

View to the east from Mount Marshall

paw14sd

Iroquois (and Whiteface to left) from Mount Marshall

Going down Herbert Brook gave me the opportunity to see the views one gets from the lean-tos at the bottom of Lake Colden. I didn’t find Lake Colden any less beautiful than Avalanche Lake. The latter had the added appeal of the ladders and boardwalks bolted to the side of Avalanche Mt.

gxdnwrx

Herbert Brook and Mount Skylight 

Unfortunately, about 4 miles or so from the Loj, once the hardest parts of my trip were done, I rolled my ankle on a rock (I believe) at the end of Avalanche Pass. It hurt a bit but I was able to motor it out, once passing the Avalanche Pass/Lake Arnold split, I even ran. However, while driving home, I became very uncomfortable with my left foot/ankle. I have been hobbled since then. But I wouldn’t trade two good ankles for a wonderful day in the mountains. Hopefully I am not out of commission for very long though I don’t suspect I will be.

y8lbagc

Algonquin, Avalanche Mountain and Mount Colden … pretty much the view from one of the (presumably sought after) Lake Colden lean-tos. 

2lmtcts

Southern end of Avalanche Lake

pagyvcw

Colden’s famous Trap Dike

rrofuew

Boardwalks bolted into Avalanche Mountain skirting the lake which bears its name

eioh6c6

Northern end of Avalanche Lake

Also, shout out to Ian at the High Peaks Information Center. About 40 minutes into my drive to the Peaks, I realized I had forgotten my wallet. Which never happens. I said some things to myself which I cannot repeat here. I was ready to resign to Upper Works but I was so looking forward to doing the loop from the Loj and seeing Avalanche Lake for the first time. Before I could lose cell phone reception, I was able to get in touch with the High Peaks Information Center and they said I could mail a check later. As a token of my gratitude, I doubled my donation. 

maxfzpj

Who knows maybe my donation will go towards another rung for that ladder?